Author Topic: Not exactly a barn find  (Read 3141 times)

TecCrash

Not exactly a barn find
« on: December 04, 2013, 11:34:21 AM »
My father in law was looking for a 4 place trailer and finally found a good deal on one.  On it were 3 Intruders and a Invader, all from 78-79 and they gave them to him with the trailer.  None have been ridden since 1993, so we didn't think that they had much hope.  Over the holiday weekend we stepped out to look at them, and none were seized, seemed to have good compression and low miles (under 1,000), so we've decided to try and rescue them.  With snow in the air I don't have much time if we want to use them at all, so I have been scouring the site to see what I need to start with.  I thought I would ask for opinions as well.   I have some experience with sleds, but most of it is with newer machines.  Here is what I'm thinking of doing:

1 – Pour a little 2 stroke fuel into the cylinders so they have some lubricant on the walls.
2 – Get some gas in the carbs and see if they will fire at all.
3 – Determine which sled to start with.
4 – Check crank seals.
5 – Replace all hoses and clean tank.
6 – Clean Carbs.
7 – See if it will actually run.
8 – Evaluate from there

I doubt I will even get that far this weekend, but it's a start.  If you have any thoughts on other things I should do before I try and test fire these engines, please let me know.

Thanks in advance!

Chris

Joel

Re: Not exactly a barn find
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2013, 12:24:27 PM »
Sound's like a good find. (esp. when looking for a trailer no less) I'd say they found you. Just be careful that's how the disease starts. The "Mad KAW" disease that is. Joel
79 Drifter 440, 79 Invader 440,82 Intruder,81 LTD, 82 LTD x2, 82 GT Prototype,82 Interceptor #519

gixxer6

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2013, 04:27:03 PM »
Sounds like a good plan, but switch "check crank seals" to REPLACE crank seals. 

mswyka

« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2013, 07:25:24 PM »