Author Topic: new guy looking for advice  (Read 8517 times)

kawinewbi

new guy looking for advice
« on: December 08, 2013, 10:48:47 AM »
Hey all! I am totally new to this vintage sled sickness but the fever is getting stronger everyday!
I just picked up a couple of what I believe are '79 Invaders. One is a 340 that runs well but will need plenty of work. The other is a 440 with what appears to be factory twin pipes...maybe the "power up" kit that I uave heard a little about. The 440 I have not heard run. The guy I bought them from said the 440 runs but the primer does not work and that he'd dump gas down the plug holes to get it running. I have not had a chance to do a compression check on either yet but assuming the engine is not sticky it would appear to have decent compression just by how hard it is to pull over. At any rate, I know I have to pull both motors and replace the crank seals to be safe. The steering is pretty sloppy on both...especially the 340. They definately need new rubber bushings where the spindles attach to the skis and I wonder how hard they are to come by. Looking for seat covers for both also.
 I picked the pair up for $400 and feel it was a good deal not expecting two "ready to run" sleds. In my searches I ran across a guy in my area with a '78 340 project he would sell me for $400. The guy seem really helpful and meticulous. The project sled has less than 2000 miles and is complete minus the primary