Author Topic: INVADER 340 CENTER CRANK SEAL?  (Read 8203 times)

IraqvetUSMC

INVADER 340 CENTER CRANK SEAL?
« on: March 17, 2015, 02:55:40 PM »
I plan on changing the crank seals this summer on my 340 and from previous threads it is stated that the center crank seals do not need to be replaced. I am assuming it is a lot faster to change the outside seals rather than splitting the cases to r&r the center seal and to change them only if it's needed. My question is, is their anyway to tell if the center crank seal needs to be replaced?

Thanks

gixxer6

Re: INVADER 340 CENTER CRANK SEAL?
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2015, 04:12:34 PM »
I have never seen a center seal need to be replaced.  I wouldn't worry about it. 

You will need to split the cases to change the outer seals.   :(

IraqvetUSMC

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2015, 04:43:26 PM »
That sucks lol, I was hoping to not have to split the cases as I have never worked on a small 2 stroke engine before. Should I use Yamabond as the sealer to seal the cases backup or is their something you have used personally that would work just as good that I could pick up at the local parts store?

Interceptor398

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2015, 05:24:11 PM »
I have use Yamabond and have no complaints.  Splitting the case is really not as hard as it sounds.

mswyka

« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2015, 05:39:28 PM »
The center seal cannot fail.  Let me repeat that, the center seal cannot fail.  Failure of center seals is one of the myths that seems to continue to perpetuate itself.  However the center seal does not actually seal against the crank.  It is a compression seal that has a series of grooves that traps the compression wave before the wave can pass from one cylinder to the other. 

You should still split the case to change the outer crank seals.  Although I have heard of people pounding them in from the outside without splitting the case it is not recommended.
Intruders:  1978, 1979, 1981 Custom (Pink)