Author Topic: 1.5 Drifters  (Read 3462 times)

Gravityisnotmyfriend

1.5 Drifters
« on: February 28, 2019, 03:30:08 PM »
I bought my first Kawasaki snowmobile back in about 1994 - it was a 1980 440 Drifter. Road it until I graduated High School. Ended up parked in my dad's shed while I went off to the USAF in 1997.

When I finished my 4 years active duty, I moved back to WI to start College. That first year back, I drug the Drifter out and got it running - sort of.

https://youtu.be/gGP-KKWPBXM

It'd run fine if it was cold, but as soon as it warmed up, it would bog badly - like it was running rich. But, I was busy with college, and didn't have a place to keep it - so I parked it back in my dad's shed for another 5ish years.

Then, in 2007, I moved to Appleton for work and found that snowmobiling was pretty big up there and that there was a network of snowmobile trails right near my house - so I went out and bought a modern sled and joined the local club. It was there that I found out quite a few guys were into the vintage sleds as well.

Huh, I have a vintage sled - really wasn't when I bought it - but it is now!

So, I brought it to Appleton and got it running again. I had to clean out the old gas and clean the carb, but it started right up. Unfortunatley, letting it sit for 5 years didn't help the bogging issue when it got warmed up. So! Off to the interwebs where I found Kawasakitrax.com. Actually, I think I found Vintagesledders.com first - and there I got the advice that I should check out this Kawasaki page since I'd get more knowledgeable answers here.

The first advice I got was to replace the crank seals. Assuming they were original, they would be pushing 30 years old. So, that's good advice regardless. So, I pulled the engine and replaced the seals. I even took a video at my first attempt to start it.

https://youtu.be/qYxm8WS1EHM

It started right away. But as soon as i got it warmed up, it would bog. Still.  :-\