Author Topic: Invader 440 no start  (Read 2625 times)

Taylor2014

Invader 440 no start
« on: September 27, 2020, 06:27:51 PM »
Hey guys! I am new to snowmobile ownership and really enjoying tinkering with the thing. I’ve got a 79? Invader 440 and picked it up for a steal. I’ve been an auto mechanic for years and know my way around 4 strokes like the back of my hand. Struggling with this 2 stroke however. So short story I got this thing cheap cuz it’s in great condition except for it had an engine fire... in my mind that meant it runs once I fix the issues. So replaced all the burnt components, new pull chord new throttle cable(s) and all new fuel and oil lines. The old ones were there for the most part so assembly wasn’t too awful. Fresh set of plugs in the thing after verifying it had spark (it does) and temporarily I’m feeding it fuel through a water bottle with a fuel hose in it. First time putting fuel to it one of the carbs leaked from a sink float. So I took them apart and cleaned them and now no leaks. So ultimately my issue is that it still won’t run. Really was feeling confident in it but I can pull the chord until I’m blue in the face and every once in a while the thing will sputter but never really act like it wants to run. Checked the plugs after a while of pulling and they are wet with fuel and oil but not soaked, it’s not flooded/ flooding. I know the carbs are pulling fuel because every time I pull the chord I see air pulling through the cap in my makeshift fuel tank (bottle). So a few observations. The carb boots do have a few cracks nothing major and I do not think they are cracked on the inside at all. Second it has a primer but looks like it’s not been hooked up in a long time. I see 2 small nipples at the front of each carb right next to the boots am I right to assume this is for the primer? I have ran a small vacuum hose between the two for now. Also the choke knob is broken and I’ve got a pair of vice grips and pulled it out some and does not