Author Topic: 440 Intruder  (Read 19175 times)

58Evinrude

440 Intruder
« on: February 04, 2014, 06:00:18 PM »
Hi, I'm a newbie to Kawis. I just saved a 1980 440 Intruder from the scrap yard for a summer restore project. I was told it was running when it was brought in last year, but I can't get it started. The gas tank has been flushed, the carb cleaned, new gas lines, new Mikuni fuel pump, new filter, new plugs, new gas, and the best I get is the occasional cough from it after about 300 pulls. Compression is 120 PTO, 150 Mag. Good spark, jumps a 1/4" gap. I'm at a loss with it right now, I usually restore old outboards, so I know my way around a 2 stroke.

The oil tank has been removed, and everything disconnected at the oil pump. I can't see anywhere that the oil injection lines would go to.. so I'm wondering if there's an air leak there somewhere? From all I've read about crank seals, they will be replaced, but I'd at least like to hear it start first, and I'm thinking it should at least do that.

The plugs aren't getting wet, but I can see a film of gas on the top of the pistons. And, when I pull the plugs out after trying to start it, I get smoke out of both jugs. I've sprayed gas into the carb, poured it down the plug holes, even tried spraying ether into the carb. Nothing but an occasional cough, and twice it backfired out the exhaust.

Can the timing be so messed up it's not firing at the right time? Any other ideas?

greeno

Re: 440 Intruder
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2014, 08:30:13 PM »
The Intruder I just resurrected did the same thing.  Took about two days of pulling before I got it to run. 

Turned out it was flooded.  Do what you normally do for a flooded two-stroke.  I cheated and used a little ether to get it going enough to knock the cobwebs out. 

80 Intruder
74 Golden Ghost
94 Cougar

58Evinrude

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2014, 10:20:37 PM »